Lifetime Achievement Award in Community and Restorative Justice

2022 Award Recipient - Margaret Thorsborne

Pioneer, Author, Practitioner, Trainer

Marg Thorsborne Headshot

Margaret is a pioneer of Restorative Practice in schools in Australia and New Zealand in the mid-late 90’s, and the UK in the early 2000’s. She has since trained conference facilitators in education, community, police and justice sectors across Australia, SE Asia, China, South Korea, New Zealand, UK, USA, and Canada. She remains involved in this important reform in schools, particularly around whole school implementation.

Marg has continued to widen the use of restorative measures by applying the principles and philosophy of conferencing and restorative approaches in workplaces in private and public sectors to rebuild relationships in the wake of a wide range of difficulties, including workplace bullying and high level conflict. She is board member and current Chair of Restorative Practice International, a not-for-profit membership organization. Marg has been awarded the Order of Australia for her services to education.

Award Background

NACRJ periodically honors a person for lifetime achievements in restorative and/or community justice. Those recognized are individuals who have made vital contributions to community and restorative justice education, research and/or practice.

Award Criteria

Recipients of this award have:

  • Worked in restorative and/or community justice fields.
  • Made exemplary contributions to the understanding and application of community and restorative justice over an entire career with a definable body of work through one or more of the following:
    • Public Speaking
    • Teaching/Training
    • Research
    • Collaborative Work
    • Publications
    • Professional Practice
  • Embodied the principles and practices of community and restorative justice within their personal and professional lives.
  • Mentored people in community and restorative justice fields.
  • Been a living role model who inspires others.
  • Worked in the best interest of the greater good.
  • Advanced the fields of community and restorative justice nationally and/or internationally.

Past Recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award

2019 Recipient

Fania Davis

Co-Founder and former Executive Director of Restorative Justice for Oakland Youth (RJOY)

View video on YouTube

2017 Recipient

Ted Wachtel

Founder of IIRP (International Institute for Restorative Practices) Bethlehem, PA

2017 Lifetime Achievement award recipient, Ted Wechtel

Ted Wachtel is the founder and former President of the International Institute for Restorative Practices (IIRP) Graduate School ( A former public school teacher, Wachtel was one of the first educators to recognize the positive impact of restorative practices in school, family and workplace settings. Educator, inspirational speaker and author, Wachtel has been in the vanguard of this transformational movement. In 1977, Wachtel and his wife, Susan, co-founded Community Service Foundation & Buxmont Academy (CSF Buxmont), which now encompasses six alternative schools, 12 foster group homes and probation, drug and alcohol and conferencing programs for delinquent and at-risk youth. CSF Buxmont utilizes restorative practices as its guiding principle.

The IIRP was established in 1999 to further the spread of restorative practices. It was accredited as a master’s-degree granting graduate school in 2011. Wachtel co-authored two best-selling books for parents of troubled adolescents in the 1980s: Toughlove and Toughlove Solutions. During this time, he appeared on national television shows, including Donahue and the Mike Douglas Show. Wachtel is the author and co-author of a number of books, including Real Justice, The Conferencing Handbook, the Restorative Practices Handbook, and Restorative Circles in Schools, as well as numerous articles on restorative practices, He has been a guest speaker at conferences on restorative practices and restorative justice around the world. The IIRP Graduate School is now a leading global provider of restorative practices training, consulting, educational materials and international conferences for professionals in education, criminal justice and social services.

2015 Recipient

Kay Pranis

Restorative Justice Practitioner, Theorist, and Author

Kay Pranis Receives the Lifetime Achievement Award from Pres. Umbreit

Over nearly all of the last 30 years Kay Pranis has been a leader in the movement to promote broader applications of relational justice (i.e., restorative justice and community justice) strategies to conflicts, crimes and community problems. Her work has helped people to address conflicts, repair harms and relationships, and helped communities to create safer neighborhoods and better schools.

Her work has contributed markedly to the foundations that guide the modern practice of victim-offender mediation as a diversionary alternative to traditional justice, post-conviction victim-offender dialogue to bring healing to victims and offenders, and the use of circle processes in community justice problem solving and resolution and healing of community conflicts. The extent of her influence on the development of restorative practices as a viable response to conflict, crime, harms and community problems cannot be overstated. It can be seen everywhere.

2013 Recipient

Dr. Gordon Bazemore

Florida Atlantic University, Ft. Lauderdale, FL

dr gordon bazemore 287w